Going to downtown Willemstad across the pontoon bridge, somehow always felt ‘important’ to me as a child. Maybe it was the stateliness of the old Dutch architecture. Or maybe it was the riotous use of colour on the colonial buildings, which always impressed me so.

Dutch, architecture, colour, houses, art, Punda, Willemstad, Unesco

Phot by Dr. Richard Gielen

Examples of the use of typically Caribbean colours and embellishments on buildings can be found anywhere on Curaçao and continue to inspire me even today.

Dutch architecture and detailing

Photo by Dr. Richard Gielen

Also the use of plants and flowers would contribute to creating works of art in and around one’s home.  And the Bougainvillea (one of my favourite flowers) was often used to this effect.

White house and pink flowers

Photo by Dr. Richard Gielen

Almost a still-life painting, right? You can imagine, that with such an abundance of beauty and the artful use of shapes and colour, it was only a matter of time, before I started to try my own hand at making beautiful things…

I´ll tell you more about that soon, so make sure to check in when you have a moment!